Jumping on the Drugstore Bandwagon ft Revlon Colourstay & L.A. Girl Pro Concealers

Hi Guys, TGIF!

Just stopping by quickly to share my experience with some of the new drugstore products I have been using. I have worn Mac cosmetics foundation from the first time I started wearing make up- I started with Mac Studio Fix powder, then I dabbled with Studio Sculpt which was an epic fail… oh and did I also mention that I tried it on a trip home (Nigeria)! Studio Sculpt is a very moisturising foundation, it is made for people who suffer from dry skin, which I do not, and it has a dewy finish. So all that coupled with the fact that I picked the wrong colour and the humidity while I was home resulted with my experience being a disaster. I then moved on to MatchMaster which is what I currently still use. Although I do love everything about MatchMaster I sometimes find that it can still be a little too red looking on me once it oxidizes. I think the finish is lovely and the coverage let’s me get away without having to pack it on but I was itching to try something new. And from my previous post I was also interested in trying new concealers to replace my holy grail Pro-Long concealer… well maybe not replace, just an alternative. I never understood why beauty Vloggers on YouTube were always trying and seeking out new foundations. I thought that once you found a good concealer and foundation you just stuck with it. And besides I honestly didn’t trust any other brand to cater to my skin tone the way Mac did…. especially not drugstore brands. But as time went on I found myself getting more curious about other foundations and I wanted the freedom of not just being tied down to Mac… what happens if I found myself somewhere that doesn’t have a Mac store in close proximity? I just wanted to know that I had options so I made a list of foundations and concealers to try –

  • Makeup Forever HD Foundation
  • Black Up Matifying Fluid Foundation
  • Sacha Cosmetics Concealer Palette
  • Black Opal Flawless Concealers
  • Black Up Cream Concealer stick
  • Face Atelier
  • Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation
  • Revlon Colour Stay Foundation
  • Lancome Teint Idole
  • Becca Cosmetics
  • kevyn aucoin concealers

Yes I know, it is a long and expensive list πŸ™‚ Obviously I didn’t just run out to the store and pick everything off the list! I went for the cheapest – Revlon Colour Stay Foundation in a Mahogany and Cappuccino for combination/ oily skin – the shades change slightly depending on what your skin type is.

And this is what the Revlon Colourstay foundation and L.A. Concealers look like on
And this is what the Revlon Colourstay foundation and L.A. Concealers look like on

 

Straight off I can tell you that I do not care for this mixing business. Cappuccino on it’s own looks ok on me but it has the tendency to come off a little too red looking on me and that’s where the Mahogany comes in handy. It has less of a red undertone and balances the cappuccino out perfectly.

wpid-img-20140708-wa0004_wm.jpg

On the left I have Cappuccino and the right I have Mahogany
On the left I have Cappuccino and the right I have Mahogany

I also picked out a couple of L.A. Girl Pro Concealers in 4 shades – Toffee, Toast, Chest Nut, and Beautiful Bronze. I’ve had L.A Girl concealers for a year and a half now but only in the lighter shades for under eye concealers and I never bothered getting them in the darker shades for an all over face concealer. I have to say, they come pretty close to being a dupe for Mac’s Pro Long wear concealers but for less than the half price. They also have an incredible amount of shades that cater to all skin tones and undertones. I use the shade Chest Nut as an all over face concealer, I find that it is the richest of the darker shades that comes closet to my skin tone.

wpid-20140723_065122_wm.jpg
From Top to Bottom – Beautiful Bronze, Chestnut, Toffee and Toast
From Top to Bottom - Beautiful Bronze, Chestnut, Toffee and Toast
From Top to Bottom – Beautiful Bronze, Chestnut, Toffee and Toast

Overall I will say that I like the Revlon Colour stay foundation, the price isn’t bad and it does the job. The only thing I’m still iffy about is that sometimes it doesn’t come off as warm as I would like it to and that might be down to my mixing skills but usually after it oxidizes it looks good on me. I love the the L.A. Girl concealers and I think they get the job done too but when compared to Mac’s Pro Long concealer they sometimes come off a little ashy no matter how dark you go. I would love to see them bring out colour correctors with the same formula as the concealers, I think they would be killer!

Have you tried any of the foundations from my list? Please leave a comment below to let me know your thoughts on them and any other brands you would recommend that cater to darker skin tones. Oh, and I’m still on the prowl for a bomb colour corrector- I’m an NW45 in Mac’s Pro Long concealer – leave a comment below if you can recommend any! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

