MakeUp Haul – MAC, BH Cosmetics, Milani, The Balm Cosmetics

So some of you know I have been or was meant to be on a no buy for makeup which didn’t exactly work out so I just kept on extending it. I gave myself to the end of last month to abstain from doing any sort of collective buying. You can not understand the excitement I felt on the 1st of June!  I had made the longest list over the last three months and I had to be very selective in what I wanted to buy now and what I would buy later. It is a very long list that is never-ending because I keep on adding to it. I will give myself this much though, I’m not as out of control with my buys these days – I went into Mac and I was just like ‘bleh…. have that already, have a similar shade, got two dupes for that.. The girl assisting me told me I have make up problem πŸ™‚ But honestly there are only so many shades that suit my skin colour and so many new shades that they can come up with. After a while you’re just replacing empties and there’s no fun in that. I only add stuff to the list that I know I don’t have in my kit and will definitely use. Nowadays when I see make up looks I’m excited to get back into my kit and create the same look with different items I own rather than just buying new stuff! It’s a lot more fun and you get to know the products and how to work with them. Ok, let’s jump into it πŸ™‚

Mac - Mahogany Lip Pencil
Mac – Mahogany Lip Pencil
swatch - Mac lip pencil in Mahogany
swatch – Mac lip pencil in Mahogany

I bought this lip liner sometime in February and for the life of me I just can not find it anywhere but I love it so much so I just had to get it again. It’s the perfect lip colour for my skin tone and goes so well it nude lipsticks. Although it does look a lot like my Milani Colour Statement liner in no. 10 Cocoa – if you’re ever looking for a dupe πŸ˜‰

Milani Colour Statement Lip Liner in 03 Nude and 09 Spice
Milani Colour Statement Lip Liner in 03 Nude and 09 Spice
Swatches- on top is Nude and below is spice
Swatches- on top is Nude and below is spice

I love Milani lip pencils because how smooth and easy they are to apply, they’re also very pigmented so the colours come out amazing looking. I got both of these shade for lip fillers, I have rather dark lips and when I’m wearing nude lipsticks filling in my lips first is a must! If you’re lighter than me then I would definitely recommend these colours as lip liners too.

Mac matte eye shadow  L- Swiss Chocolate R- Orange
Mac matte eye shadow
L- Swiss Chocolate R- Orange
Mac Eye shadows
Mac Eye shadows

So apparently the only place you can get Mac’s Brown Script is in the US! And the closest thing to it is Swiss Chocolate. I have Brown Down, also by MAC, which is similar to Swiss chocolate but it just doesn’t give me the depth I look for in a transition shade, I’m hoping Swiss chocolate does the trick. I also got Orange as a transition colour to add in with my browns to create a different undertone.

MAC- Retro Matte in Relentlessly Red
MAC- Retro Matte in Relentlessly Red
Relentlessly Red
Relentlessly Red

 

wpid-20140615_095045_wm.jpg
Swatch – Relentlessly Red

Mac’s Relentlessly Red is a Retro Matte Red lipstick with a very deep pink undertone, it’s a very hard colour to describe. It looks pink on my hand but it’s actually more red, I’ll have to do a swatch on my lips for you to judge the true shade. It is a retro matte so it goes without saying that it can be quite drying.

Mac's Heroine
Mac’s Heroine
Heroine lipstick
Heroine lipstick
Swatch - Heroine Lipstick
Swatch – Heroine Lipstick

So as most Mac fanatics now Heroine has been brought back for good after its success last year. I wasn’t able to get my hands on it last year because of all the crazy hype! I was only able to get lip pencil which was just ok. After acquiring a few more purple shade lipsticks this year I decided I was over the hype and would never get Heroine. Fast forward to 3 weekends ago, I had my 6 empties and I brought them into Mac to get my free lipstick. There was literally no other lipstick to get, the girl helping me kept on throwing all the regular shades that dark skin toned girls go for – impassioned, lady danger, up the amp, ruby woo, flat out fabulous, girl about town, rebel, diva- I had them all or similar shades so there was nothing left to get but Heroine. I must say that there is no other lipstick like it, dupes will not some close to just how vibrant and beautiful this shade is and I’m so happy I got it πŸ™‚

MSF- Gold Deposit
MSF- Gold Deposit

I have chased Mac’s MSF powders forever but most of them came out in limited editions and I haven’t been able to find them anywhere. I’ve heard that they are great highlighters and bronzers and seeing as I was about to run out of my current highlighter I decided to give this a go. It is super pigmented so a little will go a long way- you must apply with a light hand!

BH Cosmetics - Take Me to Brazil
BH Cosmetics – Take Me to Brazil
BH Cosmetics - Take me to Brazil
BH Cosmetics – Take me to Brazil

Hand my eye on this palette for the longest time and I have seen so many beautiful fun looks created with it so I just had to get it! πŸ™‚

The Balm Cosmetics
The Balm Cosmetics
The Balm Cosmetics  Nude Palette
The Balm Cosmetics Nude Palette

I’ve never gotten anything from The Balm Cosmetics before and I thought this would be the perfect thing to try out first – It’ll be would be perfect for nude smokey eyes. I can not wait to try it out.

Cherry Blossom lashes no. 47
Cherry Blossom lashes no. 47

love love love these lashes, I have been obsessed with them ever since I did the make up demo look for the wedding I attended last month. I usually get 2-3 wears out of these lashes, plus they are super affordable πŸ™‚

That is it for my haul, I did good right??!!! I’m reining in the crazy on make up slowly but surely πŸ™‚ Let me know if you’ve tried any of the products mentioned and what you thought about them.

xxx

3 thoughts on “MakeUp Haul – MAC, BH Cosmetics, Milani, The Balm Cosmetics”

Leave a Reply

