Taking On Śnieżka

I don’t know why I thought it would be fun but I did it and it was not FUN!

Left the house at 8am and made the hour and a half drive outside Wroclaw to Karpacz.

Parked the car there, got all the stuff we needed and started our 10km ascent up the mountain.

Walking…. not a problem, all day every day!

Walking uphill for about 3 hours… different story.

Probably one of the toughest things I’ve ever done and the BEST! 🙂

( All the pictures taken are from Robert’s camera 🙂 )

Stopped by the Vang Temple on our way up. We couldn't go inside because there was a service on but look how beautiful it is. It was dismantled in Vang Town Norway and brought to Karpacz to be reassembled again.
Stopped by the Vang Temple on our way up. We couldn’t go inside because there was a service on but look how beautiful it is. It was dismantled in Vang Town Norway and brought to Karpacz to be reassembled again.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0020
We’re about 20mins in here
Beautiful fresh water stream that flows all through the mountains
Beautiful fresh water stream that flows all through the mountains

DSC_0029

Just a huge wall of rock :)
Just a huge wall of rock 🙂

DSC_0039

Then we came by the lake in the valley, it was unbelievably beautiful ... God is awesome!
Then we came by the lake in the valley, it was unbelievably beautiful … God is awesome!
This is about an hour and a half in...
This is about an hour and a half in…

DSC_0050

Rob and I :)
Rob and I 🙂
Starting to feel the burn, it was getting to real at this point
Starting to feel the burn, it was getting too real at this point
Yea you see that massive thing in the background with the clouds touching it, yea, that's where we heading. It got so real here :(
Yea you see that massive thing in the background with the clouds touching it, yea, that’s where we heading. It got so real here 😦

 

Taking a wee break before the final ascent... I actually took a lot more breaks on my own! lol
Taking a wee break before the final ascent… I actually took a lot more breaks on my own! lol
Long trail...
Long trail…
Thought I was gonna quit here but I was too close...
Thought I was gonna quit here but I was too close…

 

I could see the top, so I kept going...
I could see the top, so I kept going…

 

and then I made it! :)
and then I made it! 🙂
Yay! We all had waffles and whipped cream to celebrate!  Plus we were on the boarder too, I've been to Czech Republic :)
Yay! We all had waffles and whipped cream to celebrate!
Plus we were on the border too, I’ve been to Czech Republic 🙂
Tom and I cutting corners because we can :)
Tom and I cutting corners on the descent because we can 🙂

 

And then the best part of the day... getting the ski lift!
And then the best part of the day… getting the ski lift!
Yay coming down!
Yay coming down!

 

And another ski lift to get us to the car park.
And another ski lift to get us to the car park.

So happy I did this, the view was breathtaking and so worth it! We headed back to Karpacz for lunch and then made the drive back home to Wroclaw. Great way to spend my Sunday!

I made a little video while on the first ski lift, sorry about the audio it was done on my phone.

🙂

6 thoughts on “Taking On Śnieżka”

Leave a Reply

