My Clay Rinse :)

Hi All,

So last week I was having some serious scalp issues from the deep-condition I did the weekend before. I deep conditioned over night which was a big mistake, the product build up I had totally cancelled out the shampooing I did. My scalp was flaky and super itching so I asked you guys for some advice and the lovely Ibi from Hey Natural Beauties was kind enough to give me some advice on what I could try to relieve my scalp. Now for the longest time I have been dying to try the bentonite clay rinse , I’ve had it for a good while and use it for facial masks every couple of weeks (amazing stuff btw!) but I want to do a rinse on my hair too because I heard it’s great for lifting dirt from your hair as well as depositing healthy nutrients in your hair. So I decided to try it this weekend to help with my scalp issues and see what it was all about.

So I start with sectioned hair
So I start with sectioned hair

 

For the clay mixture I used some ACV and natural honey and some water to get the consistency right. This honey is all the way natural, I don't think it's ever seen a factory before! I got it a while back when I was home in Nigeria. It even still has some dead bees in it...eeek! I know lol
For the clay mixture I used some ACV and natural honey and some water to get the consistency right. This honey is all the way natural, I don’t think it’s ever seen a factory before! I got it a while back when I was home in Nigeria. It even still has some dead bees in it…eeek! I know lol

 

Applied the clay to all scetions of my hair. Ladies beware this is an extremely messy process! Don't do it anywhere that will hard to clean after. I covered my hair with a plastic bag for about 20mins to stop my hair from drying out... I can imagine it would be a nightmare to get the clay out of your hair then
Applied the clay to all sections of my hair. Ladies beware this is an extremely messy process! Don’t do it anywhere that will hard to clean after. I covered my hair with a plastic bag for about 20mins to stop my hair from drying out… I can imagine it would be a nightmare to get the clay out of your hair then

 

Close up of my scalp after the rinse, as you can see it's not at all clean :(
Close up of my scalp after the rinse, as you can see it’s not at all clean 😦

Now as you can see from the last picture my hair is not exactly what you call clean. In fact my scalp was even more dirty after this but this could also be as a result of me not rinsing thoroughly enough. You really need to go to town on your scalp with your fingers when you do this. And I should have known this from just using the mask as a facial, this stuff does not come off that easily. So that could be one of the reasons why it cleanse my scalp or perhaps it just wasn’t a strong enough cleanser. I think I should have gone ahead and shampooed first and then done the clay rinse. After the clay rinse my hair was so soft there was no need to condition after! I can definitely see what all the hype is about! I did it on a day old bantu knot without detangling and my hair was fine!

So today I’m going to have to give in and wash my hair, I will be shampooing with the Giovanni Tea Tree Shampoo. So even though the clay rinse didn’t do what I wanted it to do for my scalp it left my hair feeling really soft and moisturised after so I will definitely be including this in my hair regime every couple of weeks!

I wore it in a flat twist to work this morning. Wasn't a fan of usind gel on my twists before but check out that sweet curl definition! Yes please :)
I wore it in a flat twist to work this morning. Wasn’t a fan of using gel on my twists before but check out that sweet curl definition! Yes please 🙂

 

Curls are quite compact here, no doubt they would have fluffed out by the end of the day... oh well, washing my hair today anyway *shrugs*
Curls are quite compact here, no doubt they would have fluffed out by the end of the day… oh well, washing my hair today anyway *shrugs*
8 thoughts on “My Clay Rinse :)”

  1. hi, my hair is still a little short but its been a chore getting products here in Lagos and sometimes whwn you do the prices can be neck breaking. at the moment the bestbi can do to my hair is wear it in braids. Do u have any suggestion for me?

    Like

    1. Hi Opeyemi! Thanks for stopping by! Braids are a good protective style, one of my favourites too. Just make sure its not too tight at the edges and avoid putting it in a bun often so your hair isn’t being pulled to often. Your twa will grow out soon enough and you will be able to experiment more with it, trust me 😉 Lack of products can be quite frustrating in the start but the trick is to get a good shampoo and conditioner and work around other things. Not everything you put in your hair has to be 100% natural you’ll be surprised what your hair responds to. Try stuff and experiment! Plus you have access to a lot of raw natural products- shea butter, coconut oil, black soap, honey etc take advantage of those products and test them out. Olive Oil and Organics have good natural hair products, especially their conditioners! I hope this helps a lil 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks! Found this helpful. I’ve got Shea butter and coconut oil, the natural ones. I’ll try the shampoo and conditioner of olive oil. I use their leave in conditioner. Found your response helpful

        Like

Leave a Reply

