Hair… why are you breaking so? :(

Hi Guys,

As you can tell from the title of this post I am seriously going through it now with hair breakage. The struggle is too real, I’m actually considering cutting my hair. I’m not the best with hair care, and I have to be honest and I’ve definitely had more downs than ups with my hair. When I first started I suffered from severe dryness issues! No matter what I did I just couldn’t get my hair to soak in moisture, and as I’ve gone along in my hair journey ( I hate using that line) I’ve become a little smarter in my choices of products and I know what to look out for, not that I always do.

I had my braids in for 4 weeks before I took them out. Obviously, my edges are a mess and destroyed, I never learn I know. While I had my braids in I made sure to moisturise and keep my hair oiled the whole time, well truthfully it was once every week and a half but the point is I moisturised. I did an oil pre-poo before shampooing to make sure that my hair wasn’t completely stripped of all the oils, which I regret now because I basically stopped the water from penetrating into my strands. After shampooing I did an ACV rinse to make sure that my hair was ready to receive deep conditioning. I then went on to prepare my deep conditioner, which consisted of yogurt, honey, shea butter and some oils. I left this on my hair for about 30mins and then rinsed it out. I honestly did not notice anything different in my hair after my rinse out, don’t think I’ll be in a hurry to try that deep conditioner again. So after the rinse out I went on to dry my hair with a t-shirt and section my hair to moisturise and seal with oil. This took about 5 all together, I can’t say that this was the highlight of my day especially as the results were quite ordinary. Anyway, before I continue on rambling, throughout the whole process there was surprisingly very little shedding and breakage which was what led me to believe that I have done something good for my hair. Fast forward to 5 days later and the breaking and dryness start. And I’m not just talking about a little hair loss I’m talking constant breaking and all from my ends. The slightest touch from my fingers and the hair snaps off like they’re dry brittle grass, it’s so disheartening. I didn’t understand it, and I had to replay the steps of my wash day and I kept coming back to the yogurt deep conditioning I did, something tells me it was not what my hair needed and I think the breaking further confirms it. I’m terrible with a lot of things when it comes to my hair and I am the ultimate product junkie, I can not lie, but the one thing that I’m even more terrible in is getting my moisture and protein balance right. looking back at my shedding/breaking history and deep condition treatments I can finally see the obvious link, it has always been too much protein and not enough moisture, which also explains why my hair (especially) the sides have always been very dry and brittle. It just hit me! And this is why I need to be more perceptive to my hair and think before I put stuff in my hair. Moral of the story…. JUST BECAUSE IT’S NATURAL DOES NOT MEAN IT HAS TO BE GOOD FOR YOUR HAIR 🙂

I read this brilliant article on striking the right balance between moisture and protein. This is probably one of the most helpful and comprehensive article I have found on this issue. It’s on Black Hair Science, click the link below to read post.

Hair Breakage 101: Protein and Moisture.

5 thoughts on “Hair… why are you breaking so? :(”

  1. Yogurt contains protein, if your hair is not in need of a protein treatment this can sometimes make the hair brittle. Are you wetting and moisturising your hair daily?
    My sister experience breakage at the ends of her hair, she went very simple, sulphate free washes every 2 weeks, in between she would spray her hair regularly with water and seal with almond oil only. Worked for her and now her hair is thriving, she has very tightly coiled 4c hair.

    http://www.heynatural beauties.com

    Like

    1. Hi, thank you for your comment. I wet and mosturise my hair every other day depending on the style I have. But going forward I will moisturise daily and seal with oil, I also use low sulphate or sulphate free shampoos. I really think I over did it with the protein in my deep condition, hopefully it’s not to late to do some damage control 🙂

      Like

  2. Having the proper protein-moisture balance is essential for healthy hair. What type of moisturizer are you using? It’s possible it wasn’t heavy enough for your hair so the oil may have been acting as a barrier to moisture that you tried to add in later. I like using Cantu Shea Butter Deep Conditioning Damage Repair Cream and I usually seal with argan oil. I haven’t had any major moisture retention issues though.

    Like

    1. I use Design Essentials moisturizer and you’re right I don’t think it’s heavy enough either! I’ve always wanted to try out Cantu products, do you use the Deep Conditioning Damage Repair Cream as a moisturizer or you wash it out after? I also want to try Mahogany Naturals Restorative hair treatment, I heard some good things about it from people with similar hair textures to me. The only moisturizer I have ever used on my hair that I felt made a difference was the Hairveda’s Whipped Clouds, it is absolutely amazing but unfortunately it was only a sample and I haven’t been able to get my hands on it since then. But I’m on the search now for that and the Cantu Shea Butter repair cream, thank you! 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s a leave-in conditioner, so I don’t watch it out. I’ve never tried the Mahogany Naturals Restorative hair treatment or the Hairveda’s Whipped Clouds. I love the Cantu and it really does seem to work well for a variety of textures. I hope you can get your hands on some soon! I also love it because it’s cheap ($3-$5) and it lasts a long time!

        Like

Leave a Reply

