Bantu Knot using Shea Moisture curling soufflé

2013-12-16 09.47.11

Just wanted to drop a quick post showing the results I got using Shea Moisture for my bantu knots. Over I was pretty happy with the results, I opted for the curling soufflé because I knew it contains glycerin and I wanted something that would help me maintain moisture throughout the day.

2013-12-16 21.57.03

2013-12-16 21.57.37

I took the knots down using EVO and to prevent frizz and my curls were super tight and defined.

I did the knots smaller than normal to get the curls more defined.
I did the knots smaller than normal to get the curls more defined.
Sorry about the horrible flash from my camera. But you can see how tight and defined my curls were initially
Sorry about the horrible flash from my camera. But you can see how tight and defined my curls were initially
This was before I fluffed it out to cover the part line
This was before I fluffed it out to cover the part line

I then used a pick comb to fluff it out a bit and cover the part lines. At firs my hair was really and compressed looking but as you can see from below that last a short while. I eventually ended up with a floppy sorta mushroom frizz thing going on which I didn’t mind too much if I’m being honest, my hair still had volume so it was good.

This was the result, you can see how compressed my curls are
This was the result, you can see how compressed my curls are

For the night time, I re-twisted my hair into larger bantu knots using my water and oil mix in my spray bottle. I did not come out the curls from today, I simply grabbed larger sections of my hair and twisted them that way. I want my hair to look full tomorrow and I’m not to bothered with curl definition that’s why I did larger twist for the night.

My hair went from super compressed curls to this
My hair went from super compressed curls in the morning to this by evening
2013-12-16 18.12.32
You can see I lost a lot of my curl definition as the day went on… again having my hand in my hair all day did not help 😦

Overall the curling soufflé was good, I had a bit of hold which was good. It’s hard to say just how good the hold was because I had my fingers in my hair the WHOLE day pulling and tugging at curls! My hair did feel very moisturised but it also felt a little crunchy in some parts, but that’s probably because I a bit was heavy-handed while using the product. I’s very oily so you want to make sure you’re not using it with any other product because your hair will feel product heavy and sticky.

1 thought on “Bantu Knot using Shea Moisture curling soufflé”

Leave a Reply

