New Living Space :)

New Living Space :)

So as I mentioned a few posts back I’m in Wroclaw, Poland for work. Random, I know! I should be here for three months but we’ll see how it goes. Luckily work is right in the city centre and so is my flat so I basically just walk everywhere. I was in a hotel for two weeks till yesterday when I moved into my studio flat. It very spacious for a studio flat and the high ceiling gives the illusion of even more space. I’m still trying to settle in and know my way around a bit better. Which isn’t very hard if I have to be honest, the city centre is basically built around a square with side streets and lanes.

My first impressions? The Polish aren’t racist as most people would think but they aren’t all overly nice either if that makes sense. I work with lovely people who are so willing to help me and stuff and its great. But out on the streets and in the shops it’s constant starring and being followed around by security guards all the time. It’s safe to say that I’ve never been so aware of my skin colour before. I have to be honest, it doesn’t make me eager to go off exploring on my own. But apart from that and the frequent bouts of being home sick it’s not so bad. I tried to go grocery shopping yesterday and it was probably one of the most frustrating things ever. I couldn’t find salt and milk and I was being openly stalked by the security guard all through this head wrecking experience. Anyway, on the plus side, they have their Christmas market on in the square and there are wooden cabin stall things with loads of really neat stuff on sale. I’ll have pictures in my next couple of posts.

P.s unfortunately I found a Zara way too close for my own good πŸ˜₯

2 thoughts on “New Living Space :)”

  1. Hi! Another newly moved to Poland girl here, and Im as white as they come, on a particularly cold day Im almost a slight blue. Let me tell you, the security guards follow me around too. It drives me crazy. Shopping happens to be one of my ‘not so popular with the hubby’ hobbies, but the constant stalking really is off putting. I sometimes feel like screaming very loudly at them, LOOK AT MY HANDBAG, ITS EXPENSIVE I CAN AFFORD TO BE IN HERE!! Then I remember my designer bag broke long ago and Im dragging along some cheapo highstreet bluff, so I stay quiet. But I know how you feel, and hopefully they are the same to everyone else and not just you and me! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

