Lets Talk Hair…

Ok, lets talk hair! So from the picture above you can see that I’m a natural hair girl, I don’t want to go too deep into my natural hair story because it’s just not that deep. I big chopped my hair Jan 2012 and I just did it because I’ve always had really full dark  hair that just never relaxed properly without get seriously damaged or burnt! Like I mean my edges have never been LAID and I guess when I found out that it was ok to have your edges not LAID I was instantly sold. So I chopped my hair off and went natural.

Now I know that to some girls being natural is like a religion, to me it isn’t. It will never be that deep for me, I don’t support everything a natural hair girl says, I don’t think relaxers are the devil’s pudding or anything. I love Brazilian and Peruvian weaves and still get them as often as I can; natural hair is not a movement for me, I just like knowing that I’m finally able to look after my hair myself and that’s about it.

Below are the products I use on my hair currently. My biggest problem was finding a sulphate free shampoo and for the best part of a year and a half I was using the wrong shampoo and suffered from dry brittle hair. Now when it comes to hair types I’m strongly in the 4Cish range. My hair is not naturally curly, I always have to add product to get my curls defined. I can not do a wash and go, I suffer from shrinkage like no man’s business and the real icing on the cake is how dry my hair gets. You can not understand the genuine struggle I go through to keep my hair moisturised! When I say dry I do not mean just a little dry I mean Sahara desert dry, like my hair gets barn hay dry. And it doesn’t help that I suffer slightly from trichotillomania, the dryer my hair gets the more intense my pulling and picking gets. Another reason why I always need to have my hair in some sort of protective style; I had my hair out for two weeks and I have successfully pulled most of my hair out at the sides… so yea, dryness is not good for me at all!

Shampoos and Cleansers
Shampoos and Cleansers

I recently tried the SheaMositure Moisture Retention shampoo because I have been struggling with sever dryness with my hair for a while and I realised it was because most of my shampoos were very high in sulphates which killed any benefits of pre shampoo treatments I did for moisture. I used the Olive Oil Shampoo for a while but stopped recently because it was too drying on my hair.

Unprocessed coconut oil
Unprocessed coconut oil

Coconut oil is one of the oils I use frequently on my hair, it’s great for locking in moisture. I got a bottle when I was back home from my aunty 🙂

Giovanni leave in conditioner
Giovanni leave in conditioner

I love this leave in because it is weightless and doesn’t leave your feeling clumpy and sticky but must admit that thus leave in isn’t moisturising enough for my hair texture.  I find myself having to use it along side another moisturiser to get any real effect on my hair.

Organics Essential Oils
Organics Essential Oils

These essential oils from ORGANICS Root Stimulator are a great quick fix for sealing in moisture with braids, and it smells lovely too 🙂

Unprocessed black soap
Unprocessed black soap

I got black soap when I was back home as well, I haven’t been able to use it because although it is a natural cleanser it is important to be able to get the PH balance right before applying it to your hair. I haven’t figured out a way to do this yet but once I do I will share it with you guys 🙂

Unprocessed shea butter
Unprocessed shea butter

Every time I go home I always make sure to stuck up on shea butter because I use it on my body as well as my hair. Shear butter is a great moisturiser on damp hair and can also be used for deep conditioning treatments.

Conditioners and Moisturisers- SheaMoisture, Hairveda, African Pride, Bee Mine, Naked, Miss Jessie's Curls, Olive Oil
Conditioners and Moisturisers- SheaMoisture, Hairveda, African Pride, Bee Mine, Naked, Miss Jessie’s Curls, Olive Oil

These are the leave ins and styling moisturisers I use for protective styles and curl definition. I can’t say which one works the best for me yet and as I have admitted I am a bit of a product junkie so it would be hard to tell. But I can say that I have used all of them and even though I might not have gotten amazing results I also haven’t gotten awful results if that makes sense.

So that’s it for my hair rant, expect more from me on new products I try and what works best for me. If you you’re hair type is similar too mine please please drop me a comment on what products give the most moisture and a link to your blogs so that I can subscribe. Till my next post God Bless and Take Care Xx

Leave a Reply

